Children's Author

Tag: award (page 1 of 1)

Cogheart wins Awesome Book Award 2018

I am delighted to announce that on the third of May (over a month ago now, but I am a woeful blogger) Cogheart won the Awesome Book Award 2018!!





The book was up against some stiff competition in the form of: Erica’s Elephant by Sylvia Bishop, Radio Boy by Christian O’Connell, The Secret of Nightingale Wood by Lucy Strange, Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson, and so I was walking on air when Cogheart was finally announced the winner!

It was a fabulous event organised by and taking place at Cranleigh Prep, with book sales from Pea Green Boat Books. You can read more about the evening here, on the Awesome Book Awards Website.

But in the meantime here are a few of the pictures taken by the photographer from Cranleigh Prep…

Cogheart nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal

I am delighted to announce that Cogheart has made the nomination list for the Carnegie Medal in the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Awards. The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK’s oldest and most prestigious children’s book awards, unique in that they are judged solely by librarians. It’s an awards list that authors like to talk about, and I am just really chuffed that my book has made the nominations because it is on there along with some of my favourite contemporary children’s authors and their most amazing books!

Plus the roll-call of past winners include some of my favourite authors of all time: Arthur Ransome, C.S. Lewis, Terry Pratchett, Philip Pullman, Noel Streatfeild, Sally Gardner and Penelope Lively for the Carnegie; and Raymond Briggs, Shirley Hughes, Janet Ahlberg, Lauren Child and former Children’s Laureates Quentin Blake and Anthony Browne, as well as current Laureate Chris Riddell for the Kate Greenaway accolade.

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children’s librarians for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people.

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children’s librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

The longlist is announced on the 15th of February and the shortlist on the 15th March, then the winner is announced on the 18th of June 2018.

You can see the whole Carnegie nomination list here…

And the nomination list for the Kate Greenaway Award, which is an award for illustrated picture books, here…

Cogheart Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award

I am delighted to announce that Cogheart has been shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award, an annual award for the author of an outstanding debut children’s novel.

The award is unique in also honouring the editor of the shortlisted books for identifying and nurturing new talent – which in Cogheart’s case is Usborne’s Fiction Director Rebecca Hill.

The Branford Boase Award is in its 17th year and previous winners include Frances Hardinge and Meg Rosoff.

The winner will be announced on 5th July. Frances Hardinge will present the winner with a cheque for £1,000 and both author and editor will receive a unique, hand-crafted silver-inlaid box.

Cogheart has been shortlisted for nine awards, including the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2017.

View the full shortlist and find out more